Always the Demon fidgets here beside me
And swims around, impalpable as air:
I drink him, feel him burn the lungs inside me
With endless evil longings and despair.
Sometimes, knowing my love of Art, he uses
Seductive forms of women: and has thus,
With specious, hypocritical excuses,
Accustomed me to philtres infamous.
Leading me wayworn into wastes untrod
Of boundless Boredom, out of sight of God,
Using all baits to compass my abduction,
Into my eyes, confused and full of woe,
Soiled clothes and bleeding gashes he will throw
And all the grim regalia of Destruction.

Incessantemente, vicino a me, s’agita il Demonio,
e mi vagola dattorno come un’aria impalpabile;
io l’inghiotto e sento che mi brucia
i polmoni e li riempie d’un desiderio eterno e colpevole.
Conoscendo il mio grande amore per l’Arte prende,
qualche volta, le sembianze della più seducente delle donne,
e con speciosi pretesti da ipocrita avvezza
le mie labbra ai filtri più infami.
Lontano dallo sguardo di Dio, mi porta,
ansante, rotto dalla stanchezza,
nelle profonde e deserte piane della Noia,
e getta sui miei occhi confusi vesti lordate, ferite aperte,
tutto il sanguinoso apparato della Distruzione!
Charles Baudelaire